Throughout our Nursery and Reception, the children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The EYFS Curriculum covers the development of children through to the end of the reception year.

Within the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, there are three prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

And four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World, including technology
  • Creative Development

In Reception we use a range of teaching and learning strategies. Our classes provide the children with an environment where they can express themselves and extend their imagination and understanding of the world around them. We encourage the children to think and ‘problem solve’ for themselves as well as direct their learning in ways that interest them. Through teaching, play and focus activities, children learn and develop their personal, social and emotional skills to equip them to become inquisitive and independent  learners.

The outdoor learning experience is also really important at Crowland. We have an extensive outdoor learning area which is solely for the use of the Early Years, giving our children access to a wide range of activities and outdoor learning equipment. We like our children to spend as much time as possible outside, so sometimes they will get wet and dirty, but this is all part of the learning experience.

As part of our transition, we plan to visit all children at their home in order to understand the skills they have developed and acknowledge the important role families play in this. We work closely with the children and their families to ensure there is a strong link between home and school.

Early Years and Foundation Stage Documents

Updated: 13/11/2023 24.56 MB
Updated: 13/11/2023 179 KB
Updated: 13/11/2023 9.21 MB
Updated: 13/01/2021 1.58 MB
Updated: 13/11/2023 187 KB